Agricultural & Farmland Protection Board | Greene GovernmentAgricultural & Farmland Protection Board | Greene Government

Agricultural & Farmland Protection Board

New York State Agriculture and Markets Law empowers counties to create Agricultural and Farmland Protection Boards with a broad-based membership to bring together farmers and government officials, bring broader community goals to oversight of agricultural districts, bring appreciation of agriculture’s needs back to the broader community, and build bridges and bring together diverse perspectives.

Agricultural and Farmland Protection Boards may recommend the creation and renewal of agricultural districts, comment on “notices of intent” to undertake development projects in agricultural districts, and guide, assess and approve Agricultural and Farmland Protection Plans.

Agendas, Minutes & Presentations

The Agricultural and Farmland Protection Board (AFPB) will meet on Wednesday, November 10, 2021, 6:30PM at CCE-Columbia-Greene, 6055 NY-23 Acra, NY to discuss the 2021 ‘Annual Review’ of  Greene County’s Agricultural District No. 124 in accordance with Article 25-AA of the Agriculture & Markets Law. 

November 16, 2020 Meeting Minutes

November 16, 2020 Meeting Presentation

November 16, 2020 Agenda

The Agricultural Farmland Protection Board met on Thursday December 19, 2019 at 3:00pm at the Agroforestry Resource Center 6055 Route 23, Acra.  View the Agenda

December 19, 2019 Meeting Minutes

December 19, 2019 Board Presentation

October 10, 2019 Board Presentation

October 2, 2019 Meeting Minutes

AFPB Members

Active Farmers Representatives

  • James VanOrden
  • Keith Jones
  • Matthew Story

Agribusiness Representative

  • Jerry Cunningham (Chair)

Agricultural Land Preservation Representative

  • Debbie Kavakos

Other Members

  • Joel DuBois, Greene County Soil & Water Conservation District
  • Michael Bulich, Greene County Legislator
  • Evan Antonio, Cornell Cooperative Extension of Columbia and Greene Counties
  • Ray Ward, Greene County Real Property Tax Services