All application submissions will be done by appointment only. All completed forms must be submitted in person to this office.
Contact Civil Office Manager Andrea Benjamin-Legg at 518-943-3300 x606 to set up an appointment between the hours of 9am-3:45pm Monday through Friday.
APPLICANTS MUST BE A LEGAL RESIDENT OF GREENE COUNTY for a period of not less than two (2) years prior to applying, and be a citizen of the United States. You must be twenty-one (21) years of age or older, or honorably discharged from the US Military service or the New York State National Guard.
Applications are available with no appointment at the Civil Office at 411 Main Street, Catskill (Monday-Friday,9am-5pm). Applications can also be picked up by appointment only at the Sheriff’s Office at 45 Haverly Memorial Drive, Coxsackie (Monday-Friday, 9am-3:45pm).
Notice for Pistol Permit Applicants
Sporting Use: A Carry License, which is stamped Sporting Use Only restricts the licensee to carrying a loaded firearm to and from a range for recreational or competitive shooting, or for hunting or other sporting use where legal in New York State, except when traveling through New York City. When traveling to range, licensee can carry one loaded gun on his person to and from pistol range.
Note: For the purpose of target shooting and hunting, licensees are authorized to meet for the purpose of carpooling or to use a restroom on the way to and from their shooting destination. You are authorized to do this only during the period upon leaving your residence and arriving at your shooting destination or during the return trip, and this can only be done when practical. You are not authorized to take your firearm(s) to any establishment used exclusively for alcohol consumption
Carry: This license allows you to possess and carry a concealed firearm when proper cause exists for the issuance thereof. (P.L. 400-2-F) The concealed firearm may be carried except where restricted by law. All licenses are issued “Good Until Revoked.”
Knowingly providing false information will be sufficient cause to deny this application and constitutes a crime punishable by fine, imprisonment, or both. The following conditions affect any license which may be issued:
A handgun can only be purchased through a Federal and New York State licensed handgun dealer. The dealer’s receipt must include his or her federal and state license numbers along with a complete description of the handgun. Please schedule an appointment with the Sheriff’s Pistol Permit Division to complete required amendments. You will be given a purchase coupon to bring to the dealer to take possession of the firearm.
Handguns can only be bought and sold through federal and state licensed handgun dealers. The dealer will give you a receipt to give to the Pistol Permit Division to remove the handgun from your license.
When a pistol license holder is deceased, the Executor or Administrator of the Estate must dispose of the handgun(s) within 15 days to a dealer, police department or Sheriff ‘s Office. After the 15 days, you are required to make arrangements with the Greene County Sheriff’s Office to have the firearm(s) picked up and held for safekeeping until it can be registered. (It is against the law for you to bring the firearm in yourself to the law enforcement agency.)
Any person who voluntarily surrenders to any police or sheriff’s department (under their terms) an unregistered handgun, is granted amnesty from prosecution for Unlawful Possession. Contact the local police or Sheriff ‘s office before bringing in any weapons.
After one year, surrendered firearms may be destroyed pursuant to the law.
If you have changed your name because of marriage or for other legal reasons, you must provide the Pistol License Unit with a marriage Certificate or legal court documents verifying the change.
Should you change the address listed on your license, you must schedule an appointment with the Pistol Permit Division no later than ten days after the change becomes effective. If you move to a different county within NY State, you must complete a permit transfer form to have your pistol license records transferred to new county of record.
If your license becomes mutilated or lost, you must notify the Pistol Permit Division and complete a request for a duplicate license form.
Picking up a handgun is by appointment only. To make the appointment, please call (518) 943-3300 extension 606.
A report must be made to the Pistol Permit Division under the following circumstances:
400.00(10)(b) License: Expiration, Certification and Renewal
Licensees whose licenses were first issued before January 15, 2013 must have recertified before January 31, 2018 (and every five years thereafter). Licensees whose licenses were issued after January 15, 2013 must recertify within five years of the original issue date (and every five years thereafter). The State Police typically mail notices to licensees advising them of upcoming recertification deadlines, but it is the responsibility of the licensee to recertify whether or not they receive a notice. Failure to recertify will act as a revocation of such license.
NYSP Safe Act of 2013 – Pistol Permit Recertification
NYS Police Online Registration for Assault Weapons
The NYSAFE Act protects the privacy of pistol license holders by permitting them to notify a County Sheriff that they do not wish for their information to be released publicly. Visit the NYS Police FAQ page & Download the form