GREENE COUNTY LEGISLATURE 2021 EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE AWARDS

Posted on June 21, 2021

On Wednesday, June 16th, the Greene County Legislature proudly announced the Employees of the Year and Chairman's Award winners for 2021.





2021 Employee of the Year Co-Winners are **Heather Buffa**, Mental Health – Director of Clinical Services, and **Amanda Lyons**, Mental Health – Deputy Director of Community Services.

The 2021 Chairman's Award went to **Daniel King**, Emergency Services – Emergency Planner Coordinator, **Penny Martinez**, Public Health – Public Health Emergency Preparedness Coordinator, and **the entire Staff of the Greene County Public Health Department** for exceptional service during the COVID-19 pandemic response and recovery.

Read Chairman Linger's Award Pronouncement



The Legislature also presented three commendations to Janay Brantley, Lauren Liberti & Emma Brown, and James Young.



A sophomore at Catskill High School, Janay Brantley became the all-time leading scorer in the history of the CHS Girls Basketball program. At the end of this season, Janay has 1,099 career points with two more years to play!

See Janay's Commendation

Presenting the awards are Greene County Legislator Matt Luvera (Distirct 1 – Catskill) and to his left: Chairman Linger (Distirct 5 – New Baltimore) and Legislators Linda Overbaugh, Michael Bulich and Jack Keller of Catskill.

High School students **Lauren Liberti & Emma Brown** were chosen by the board of Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) to serve on the NYS Executive Council as President and 1st Vice President/Peer Educator respectively.

See Lauren & Emma's Commendation





County Highway employee **James Young** was commended in recognition for his bravery in rescuing a motorist stranded in thigh-high floodwaters covering Route 23B in Leeds on Christmas Day, 2020. (Chairman Linger presenting with Public Works Committee Chair Jim Thorington, District 6 – Prattsville, Ashland, Windham, Jewett. See James' Commendation

Please join your Legislature in congratulating all of this year's honorees.

